Understanding the Chakra Energy System: From A Yoga Teacher

This post contains affiliate links. Please see our disclosure for more information.

At first the chakra energy system may seem complex and mysterious, however it is possible connect with the subtle energies of the body.  A lot of folks do this through meditation, yoga, reiki, nature walks, and even through relationships.

Fundamentally the chakras are energy centers of the body, spiraling within the auric energy field. Every body has an energetic system with these vortexes to carry and disperse energy from the internal and external worlds.

The seven main chakras begin at the base of the spine and extend out through the top of the head. They are ordered by specific colors, frequencies, and also locations in the physical body.



As the seven chakras progress upward with the light spectrum, there are also 21 other interconnected minor and transpersonal chakras, as well as hundreds of minichakras on the body which relate to acupuncture and major reflex points that connect to a wider energy field.  For now we will focus on the 7 main chakras.

Chakra and Location, Associations, Sanskrit, and Color of Influence
7th Sahasrara
Crown of the Head  –  White, Violet, Gold
Cerebrum, Pineal Gland

6th Ajna
Third Eye Center – Deep Blue, Indigo
Face, nose, sinuses, ears, eyes, brain function, pituitary gland, cerebellum, central nervous system

5th Vishuddha
Throat – Turquoise/Sky Blue
Throat, neck, thyroid, parathyroid glands, ears, windpipe, upper lungs

4th Anahata
Heart Center – Green
Heart, Upper back, lungs, blood and air circulation

3rd Manipura
Solar Plexus – Yellow
Lower back, digestive system, liver, spleen, gall bladder, pancreas, production of insulin

2nd Svadisthana
Sacral Chakra – Orange
Pelvis, kidneys, production of adrenaline, bladder, body liquids: blood, lymph

1st Muladhara
Base (Root) – Red
Solid parts of the body, bones, teeth, nails, gonads, anus, rectum, colon, prostate gland, blood and blood cells.

What is a chakra session like? What is addressed in a chakra session?
In a chakra session one will learn ways to clear, activate, and balance the seven chakras in order to facilitate harmony in the mind, body, and spirit.  In some cases certain techniques such as pendulums, crystals, colors, breath work, visualizations/meditation, aromatherapy, and sounds may be used to enhance the experience of the chakra system.

Working with the chakras allows one to discover that we are more than just a physical body.   When chakras are considered open or closed, they are actually meaning active, under active, passive/balanced, or overactive. Often healers use the term “blocked” and attempt to help a person “unblock” those energy ce

An active chakra is open, functioning well, and maintaining a healthy input and output of the subtle energy, or prana. When all chakras are active, the auric body will be vibrant.  An under active chakra is in need of help or stimulation by way of energy medicine which comes in various forms. A passive/balanced chakra is in a state of harmony. An overactive chakra is working vigorously to eliminate imbalances in the physical body or emotional body.

Ancient India calls the chakras the wheels of light. In fact, “chakra” translates to wheel in Sanskrit. Within ancient teachings of the chakra system there is enough information to teach for many lifetimes.  However, the most central part of the teachings was gained over centuries through the practice of yoga and meditation.

Interestingly, there is evidence of the ancient Egyptians declaring the endocrine glands as the distinct location of where the chakras are located in the physical body.  (Well Hot Coffee!)  The endocrine glands associated with the chakras are:

Chakra Location Association

7th Crown Pineal Gland

6th Third-Eye Pituitary Gland

5th Throat Thyroid, Parathyroid Glands

4th Heart Thymus Gland

3rd Solar Plexus Pancreas Gland

2nd Sacral Ovaries, Testes

1st Base Adrenal Medulla, Adrenal Cortex

Ultimately the benefits come with practice and immersion in understanding the chakras.  Truly, the benefits are infinite as one is able to address a particular chakra and how it relates to our reality.   You may seek out a chakra session with the intention to find balance in your physical body and/or life.  Perhaps you will settle into a different way of looking at the world while exploring the mysteries of the chakra system.  I sure did!


This post is for informational purposes only.  Please see our disclaimer.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

x Logo: Shield Security
This Site Is Protected By
Shield Security